My Internet Notebook

a journal on software, mobile, marketing

Information Security Certificate

leave a comment

Ever wondered how many information security certifications are there, what do you need to gain an edge in the field?

First, to show that you have basic understanding /experience of network security you need to know the inside-out of these security devices: firewalls, antivirus solutions, and intrusion detection devices. A Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) or Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE) can help you here.

To venture further into broader security arena, you can probably look at these options. Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is a good place to start, and is frequently mentioned in job ads. This certification denotes a recognized mastery of an international standard for information security. The exam measures understanding of 10 main security areas.

Other certifications include: Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC) (founded by the SANS Institute), CompTIA Security+, TruSecure ICSA Certified Security Associate (TICSA), Security Certified Network Professional (SCNP), Security Certified Network Architect (SCNA), Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP).

Written by Y.

May 15th, 2005 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Security

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.